Tuesday, August 22, 2006

Wendelin Werner from University of Paris-Sud and Andrei Okounkov of UC Berkeley, win this year's Fields Medal

A Probabilist wins the Fields Medal for the first time! (I think). The spotlight, though, will be on Grigory Perelman who refused it. (The other winners are Andrei Okounkov of the University of California, Berkeley (http://math.berkeley.edu/~okounkov), Terence Tao from the University of California, Los Angeles, and Wendelin Werner of the University of Paris-Sud in Orsay, France). ...continues here!

No comments:

Post a Comment